Eviction Moratorium

This information can change. Please double check resources and continue to monitor them for up to date information.

Information about eviction protections

Oregon’s statewide eviction moratorium expired on June 30, 2021, and is no longer active.

Effective July 1, 2021, tenants must pay current and future rent. Tenants cannot be evicted for owing rent for the months of April 2020 through June 2021.  Rent that was originally due during that time period is due in full by February 28, 2022.

However, starting July 1, Oregon Senate Bill 278 provides protection from nonpayment evictions to renters who apply for rent assistance if they provide documentation of their application to their landlords. 

Tenants should apply for rent assistance right away.

Renters are encouraged to apply for help paying their current and back rent as soon as possible in order to be provided safe harbor protections under SB 278. Learn more about applying for rent assistance.

How to qualify for new eviction protections 

Starting July 1, Oregon SB 278 provides protection from eviction to renters who apply for rent assistance if they provide documentation to their landlord of their application. Protection from eviction lasts for 60 days (90 days for Multnomah County and unincorporated Washington County) from the time a tenant provides documentation of their rental assistance application.

Eligible renters who live in Multnomah County or unincorporated Washington County may be entitled to 90 days of protection after providing their landlord with the required notice. The 90 days of additional protection start when the tenant provides documentation to their landlord of their rent assistance application. 

Tenants should apply for rent assistance right away.

If you have additional questions about how and when to submit evidence of your application, please contact your rent assistance provider or Oregon Law CenterCommunity Alliance of Tenants or Legal Aid Services of Oregon.

What to do after July 1, 2021

Rent relief funds are available to help tenants pay current rent, as well as back rent. Tenants are strongly encouraged to apply for rent assistance to pay their July rent as soon as possible, even if they choose to submit the CDC’s Protection Declaration form.

Learn more about applying for rent assistance, or apply directly at oregonrentalassistance.org

What to do if you receive an eviction notice

If you receive a notice of eviction for nonpayment, call 2-1-1 immediately to get directly connected to information and resources about rapid-payment rent assistance that can stand as a last defense against eviction.

Renters who need legal advice can find support from community resources such as Oregon Law CenterCommunity Alliance of Tenants or Legal Aid Services of Oregon.

CDC Federal Eviction Moratorium: Protection through October 3, 2021

 

Update: On 08/26/2021, the Supreme Court blocked the CDC's eviction moratorium that had been instated earlier in August. This decision removes the protections from nonpayment eviction judgements that were put in place by the CDC. However, for Oregonians, this ruling has no bearing on the tenant protections in SB 278 or SB 282, passed by the Oregon legislature earlier this year. While some tenants who were not able to access SB 278 or SB 282 protections would have been protected from lockout under the CDC agency order, the Supreme Court's decision should not impact the majority of Oregonians. Tenants who wish to utilize the safe harbor protections provided under SB 278 should apply for rent assistance as soon as possible and provide their landlord with the documentation of their application for rent assistance.

 

To be protected by the CDC’s eviction moratorium, renters must fill out the CDC’s Eviction Protection Declaration form and submit it to their landlord. Find the CDC Eviction Protection Declaration form in other languages here

Submit the signed declaration page to the individual or company you rent from. Renters are strongly encouraged to keep a record of when the form was sent and to keep a copy of the signed form for their own records.